Can I Get A Break? Vet Bills & Loan Award

A lot has been going on since my last post (unexpected bills, an emergency room visit, loan award letters, and lots of wedding prep). As far as students of RUSVM are concerned, my loan award was finally discovered. I haven’t actually received my award letter, but I was offered $126,500 for the 2016-2017 school year. I was first super excited about seeing so many numbers since I’ve been living paycheck to paycheck while paying for a wedding in cash and getting my kids ready for traveling once a month, but I’m definitely nervous about the number now that I’ve had some time to let it sink in. My plan is to take out the full amount this year to see how much I will wind up needing with a cushion and taking out that much after this school year.

So far, I’ve spent $722 on getting Molly and Brindley down to St. Kitts. I got all travel prereqs done at VCA Animal Hospital, which can be found all over the country. I’ve included both treatment plans below so you can get a visual for what you need. The doctor who setup this treatment plan for Molly and Brindley is a RUSVM graduate, so she took it upon herself to research what we had to do and when in addition to the paperwork that RUSVM sent to me.

Cat: ($426)Screen Shot 2016-08-07 at 1.13.27 PM

Dog: ($300)Screen Shot 2016-08-07 at 1.14.02 PM

Be prepared to spend your entire paycheck on this nonsense because it has frustrated me more than any other school or wedding bill. I’ve just accepted the fact that I need my babies to come with me and I don’t bat an eye when they ask for my payment. I just make sure not to spend any bit of my paycheck until after I pay VCA.

 

Leave a Reply

