Banfield Experience – Last Day!

Today was my last day at Banfield 1175. It has been a bittersweet experience the last two days. Last night, my co-workers took James and me out to a local pub to celebrate my last days as a Banfield employee, and James’ and my big move and wedding.

The people I’ve met through this entire process have been amazing! And I truly mean that. I spent the majority of my time at my last job just wanting to work in a veterinary hospital, again. I still worked with dogs and cats, but I’ve got to tell you… having worked out of the field for over a year, it was great to have so many people tell me how much they admired me, how naturally great of a doctor I will make, and how much they are going to miss me.

My first day versus my last day were polar opposites. The first day I followed the doctor around, watched the “other” doctor do dental procedures with two other techs, and only a few people talked to me. Today, I monitored two patients under anesthesia, ran labs, reminisced with everyone about how my 10 weeks flew by, and how much we will all miss each other. I remember my first day I felt so useless. I wasn’t trusted by anyone to fill meds, I didn’t know how to use their laboratory equipment, and I literally just followed Dr. Leonard around and got in everyone else’s way.

As of today, I have assisted, if not taken the lead, in 111 surgeries. I learned how to place catheters casually and comfortably, monitor patients under anesthesia and knowing how to counteract extremely high and extremely low blood pressure and heart rate, as well as building personal relationships with all of my co-workers and subsequently gaining their trust and admiration. I’ve got to tell you… that feels SO freakin’ good!

To my mentors: Thank you for being such great teachers! You have helped me mold myself into a better competitor of vet school, and without you, I wouldn’t have received that opportunity before leaving for RUSVM. You have always been patient with me and always gave me praise, and it is so rewarding when learning new techniques. I am so thankful for the experience you gave me, as well as your continued support as I leave you.

To my co-workers: Thank you for giving me the opportunity to learn by giving me the chance to (1) draw blood from the jugular vein, (2) do cystocenteses during dental procedures, (3) perform the dental procedures for the day, and (4) trusting my judgement and experience in patient cases. I know it isn’t easy to warm up to a new person OR trust the judgement of someone you’ve never worked with, but your patience and acceptance has helped mold me into a better candidate for a DVM degree.

To my entire Banfield family: I will greatly miss you!

 

 

Leave a Reply

