Appealing a Dismissal

My previous post pretty much explained what happened in my first semester, but I wanted to make a post about how it’s not scary, or bad, or something you won’t make it through.

You will receive your dismissal letter approx. 3 days after the final grades are published, but before that happens, you should know what you want.

First, ask yourself if it’s truly worth staying. Are you going to give it your all? Do you still want to be a doctor? Is spending $30,000 for another attempt financially responsible right now? If the answer is no, that’s okay. I have a very amazing great aunt who put it into perspective for me while I was in tears in the phone with her. She told me that not everything works out, but that doesn’t mean you failed, it just means that God has something better planned for you. What I didn’t realize is that God’s plan was just to put me in class I belonged in. So that means I’m starting over, but that’s never a bad thing!

Second, could you be better at something else? Could you become a vet tech, instead? Could you enjoy being a chef? If yes, that’s good. I thought I could be any of those things well and still be happy. If yes, are you will to give up your dream? If you are, that’s fine too, but you have to be willing to accept the consequences of your decision to give it up. IT’S NOT QUITTING!

Lastly, if you think that you aren’t quite ready to give up your dream, you owe it to YOURSELF to try again. Not anyone else… yourself!

You should know what you did wrong, be aware of it and take responsibility for it. Don’t blame your down falls on anyone but yourself. You know that saying from Elenor Roosevelt that says no one can make you feel inferior without your consent? You had a downfall that was majorly result of your actions. That’s still okay! Failure isn’t the end. Write your appeal honestly and graciously. Explain your downfalls, and elaborate on how you recovered. Tell them your plans to move forward. Most importantly, be confident, but not cocky, and again be gracious. I closed my appeal letter with “Thank you for any support you can offer me in obtaining my dream of becoming a veterinarian. I look forward to your response, appreciate your time, and graciously accept your appeal decision.”

The last thing you need to prepare for is that they may make the decision for you. Your appeal may not be granted, but at least you tried and didn’t wave your white flag.

Appeal sessions are not held until the Tuesday after the semester starts, and the decisions may no be administered to you until Wednesday evening. I didn’t get registered until Thursday, so be prepared for island time. I’d hope that in the future they’ll change their protocol. I also didn’t receive my funding until the following Wednesday. It’s frustrating, but it’s worth it. Read my previous post if you have any doubts.

Leave a Reply

